The ALCM Raabe Prize for Excellence in Sacred Composition was established by William and Nancy Raabe to recognize a recent musical work that promotes and extends the practice of church music as it is informed and shaped by Lutheran theological insight and worship practices.

The composition so recognized will have been written during the five-year period prior to the year in which the prize is awarded and will reflect a larger history of excellence on the part of the composer.

The $2,000 monetary portion of the prize will be equally shared by the recipient and a musical or ecclesiastical organization chosen by the recipient.

This prize will be announced at the biennial conference of the Association of Lutheran Church Musicians and, if possible, will be presented publicly to the recipient. The determination of performance feasibility at the conference will be made by the ALCM executive director and the conference committee.


Preference will be given to those compositions which grow out of the heart of Lutheran worship – the song of the assembly that enables all to lift their voices in prayer, praise and proclamation as they gather around Word and Sacrament – and which are appropriate for inclusion in a typical Lutheran worship service.

Compositions which feature the human voice will be preferred over compositions for instruments alone.

The recognized composer need not be Lutheran or an ALCM member.

Nominations for a composition may come from someone other than the composer.

Compositions to be considered by the panel of judges are invited from all geographic areas, and from all styles appropriate to the Lutheran tradition.

Submission Requirements

  1. Completed 2021 Raabe Prize submission form.
  2. Two electronic copies of the submitted work are required: one unattributed (without the composer’s name and, if published, publisher’s markings) and one with the composer’s name.

In addition to the required musical scores, composers are encouraged to submit a recording of the work, also unattributed. Submissions for the 2021 award must be received by October 1, 2020.

Submissions should be sent to: