

2025 Raabe Prize for Excellence in Sacred Composition

Description

The Raabe Prize for Excellence in Sacred Composition is established to recognize a recent musical work that promotes and extends the practice of church music as it is informed and shaped by Lutheran theological insight and worship practices.

The composition so recognized will have been written during the five-year period prior to the year in which the prize is awarded and should be representative of a larger body of work by the composer.

The monetary portion of the prize (\$2,000) will be equally shared by the recipient and a musical or ecclesiastical organization chosen by the recipient.

This prize may be presented publicly to the recipient at the biennial conference of the Association of Lutheran Church Musicians in Raleigh-Durham, NC in 2025 and may be performed at that conference. The determination of conference performance feasibility will be made by the conference committee.

Guidelines

Preference will be given to those compositions which grow out of the heart of Lutheran worship – the song of the assembly that enables all to lift their voices in prayer, praise, and proclamation as they gather around Word and Sacrament.

Compositions which feature the human voice will be preferred over compositions for instruments alone.

The recognized composers need not be Lutheran nor a member of ALCM.

Nominations for a composition may come from someone other than the composer.

Compositions to be considered by the panel of judges are invited from all geographic areas, and from all genres.

Submission Requirements

- 1. Completed submission form (on ALCM website).
- 2. Two electronic copies of the submitted work are required: one unattributed (without the composer's name and, if published, publisher's markings) and one with the composer's name.

In addition to the required musical scores, composers are encouraged to submit a recording of the work. Submissions for the 2025 award **must be received by October 1, 2024**.

Only one composition will be considered per composer.

Submissions should be sent to: raabeprize@alcm.org