Raabe Hymn Text Competition

Over 90 submissions were received for the 2019  Raabe Hymn Text Competition. Prizes were awarded to the following two text writers:

The winner of the new text for the tunes BETHOLD and SEWARD: “Praise to God with Voices Sing” by Rev. David M. Blank. Pastor Blank serves as senior pastor at St. Luke’s Lutheran Church in Grand Rapids, MI.

The winner of the new text for the tune  ST. CLEMENT: “The Night You Gave Us” by Dr. Wayne L. Wold. Dr. Wold is professor emeritus and college organist at Hood College in Frederick, MD; director of music at First Lutheran Church in Ellicott City, MD; and adjunct associate professor and director of the Church Music Institute at Shenandoah University in Winchester, VA.

Texts have been set in melody and harmony versions in PDF and JPG formats. Permission is granted to members of the Association of Lutheran Church Musicians to reproduce these pieces for use in worship & study as long as the membership remains active. To access these texts, log in to the members area of the ALCM website.

Funding for this prize was made possible through the generous gift of Dr. William and Rev. Nancy Raabe, who made an additional donation to extend the reach and parameters of the Raabe Prize.

E-newsletter signup